World News

Kigali ratification slows

EUROPE: The surge of countries ratifying the Kigali Amendment last year, which ensured the global HFC phase down will come into force on January 1, 2019, has slowed to a trickle.

Since November 17, when Sweden became the 20th party to ratify and ensure the Amendment would come into force, just five countries have ratified.

Perhaps prompted by November’s historic 29th Montreal Protocol meeting, 12 countries ratified the agreement that month to ensure the agreement would be enacted. But, despite reports that many other countries were on the verge of ratification, the number of adopters has since reduced to a trickle.

This month’s ratification by the Netherlands, the seventh by an EU member state, is only the second this year. The other new countries to sign are Trinidad and Tobago, Malawi, Côte d’Ivoire and Ecuador.

Of the 197 countries signed to the Montreal Protocol, the list of those who have so far ratified the Kigali Amendment in date order is:

1. Mali 31/3/17
2. Micronesia 12/5/17
3. Marshall Islands 15/5/17
4. Rwanda 23/5/17
5. Palau 29/8/17
6. Norway 6/9/17
7. Comoros 16/9/17
8. Chile 19/9/17
9. Tuvalu 21/9/17
10. North Korea 21/9/17
11. Australia 27/10/17
12. Canada 3/11/17
13. Maldives 13/11/17
14. UK 14/11/17
15. Finland 14/11/17
16. Germany 14/11/17
17. Laos 16/11/17
18. Luxembourg 16/11/17
19. Slovakia 16/11/17
20. Sweden 17/11/17
21. Trinidad and Tobago 17/11/17
22. Malawi 21/11/17
23. Côte d’Ivoire 29/11/17
24. Ecuador 22/1/18
25. Netherlands 8/2/18

Related stories:

Global HFC phase down becomes reality19 November 2017
CANADA: A flurry of countries ratifying the Kigali amendment this week has ensured that the global HFC phase down will come into force on 1 January 2019. Read more…

Related Articles

Back to top button