World News

Industry news and insights from Europe and around the World

UK News

Latest news and developments in the United Kingdom


Keep up-to-date with the latest new products and technology


General articles, applications and industry analysis

Radermacher is J&E Hall Gold Medal winner

Dr Reinhard Radermacher (centre) receives the J&E Hall Gold Medal from J&E Hall’s Manuel Camacho (left) and IoR president Graeme Maidment

UK: This year’s J&E Hall Gold Medal for outstanding practical contribution to the air conditioning and refrigeration industry has gone to Dr Reinhard Radermacher of the University of Maryland.

The £5,000 award, supported by J&E Hall International for the last 37 years, was presented to Dr Radermacher at last week’s annual Institute of Refrigeration dinner in London.

Co-founder of the Centre for Environmental Energy Engineering at the University of Maryland, Dr Radermacher has been pushing the research frontiers by exploring new technologies and developing them for real life applications, and is a world authority on energy efficiency and environmentally sustainable thermal systems research. The simulation packages developed under his direction are used by more than 60 organisations worldwide and have helped to enable researchers, policy makers and designers to analyse life cycle estimate of natural and low GWP refrigerants. 

Ted Perry Award winner Angeles Rivero-Pacho receives her prize from IoR president Graeme Maidment

Angeles Rivero-Pacho, a student at the University of Warwick, was this year’s winner of the Institute of Refrigeration’s Ted Perry award. This annual award for student research, recognised the work of Angeles Rivero-Pacho in the project to model, design, construct and test a carbon-ammonia adsorption heat pump. With significant improvements being made to heat transfer rates, the research was described by one of the judges as “a practical research project with a high potential for commercial exploitation.”

She received a cheque for £500 from Hawco, an engraved tankard and a set of ASHRAE databooks.

Ian Sullivan of Sullivan Air Conditioning was the winner of the Service Engineers Section Lifetime Achievement Award after clocking up 43 years in the industry. Starting as an apprentice with Indair in 1971, today he runs his own business as a self-employed service engineer, sub-contracting to several different companies, and carrying out trouble shooting on air conditioning systems or water chiller be that single splits, VRF or central plant.

Ian was presented with a cash prize and commemorative tankard donated by the ACR Trainee of the Year award, for outstanding service to the industry.

The Lightfoot Award for the best evening paper, voted for by IoR members, went to Tom Davies, Robin Campbell and Varun Thangamani for their presentation A novel low energy defrost process for the frozen food chain.  A cash prize of £500 and medal was donated by Lightfoot Defence.

Above (left): One of the winning evening paper authors Tom Davies (left) accepts the Lightfoot medal from Terry Nicholls (centre) of Lightfoot Defence. Above (right): Lifetime achievement winner Ian Sullivan accepts his award from Graeme Maidment

Latest News

27th February 2024

Leak detection software attracts $5m funding

USA: The refrigerant leak detection software created by San-Jose-based Axiom Cloud has attracted $5m in funding to accelerate deployment of the technology.
27th February 2024

Midea opens showroom in New York

USA: Chinese air conditioning and heat pump manufacturer Midea has opened its first national showroom and distribution centre in New York.
27th February 2024

European heat pump sales down 5% in 2023

EUROPE: After a decade of increases, heat pump sales in Europe fell by around 5% in 2023 – and market analysts are expecting this downward trend to continue this year.
26th February 2024

Modine buys Canadian AHU manufacturer

USA/CANADA: Modine has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Canadian air handling unit manufacturer Scott Springfield Manufacturing. 
26th February 2024

Stulz partners on immersion cooling

GERMANY/NETHERLANDS: Stulz Modular, the data centre design, build and maintenance services provider, is cooperating with Dutch immersion cooling specialist Asperitas in the field of liquid cooling.
26th February 2024

Brian Streatfield 1936-2024

UK: Brian Streatfield, a man who was instrumental in the formation of Carrier in the UK during the 1970s, died at the weekend. He was 87.