World News

Industry news and insights from Europe and around the World

UK News

Latest news and developments in the United Kingdom


Keep up-to-date with the latest new products and technology


General articles, applications and industry analysis

F-gas champion joins Danfoss board

Connie_Hedegaard_homeDENMARK: Connie Hedegaard, the former EU commissioner for climate action who led the implementation of the first F-gas regulation, has been appointed to the board of Danfoss.

Connie Hedegaard is the former Danish minister for environment and minister for climate and energy and was EU commissioner for climate action between 2010 and 2014. Currently, she chairs the sustainability foundation, KR Foundation, and the green think tank, CONCITO. She is also the chairman of OECD’s round table on sustainable development, chairman of the Danish public service committee, and a board member of Aarhus University.

Welcoming the Group’s new board member, chairman Jørgen M Clausen said: “Because of her experience as a minister and an EU commissioner, Connie Hedegaard has a unique background. Internationally she is known for her extreme competence within climate, environmental and energy issues, and her skills are a very good match for Danfoss,” he added.

Connie Hedegaard paid tribute to Danfoss’ energy-efficient technologies and climate-friendly solutions, adding “Danfoss plays a key role in the world’s shift to a greener and more sustainable consumption of energy and resources in general. As a member of the Board, I look forward to contributing to the continued development of Danfoss as a strong global company, and helping ensure full use of the extensive potential.”

Connie Hedegaard will replace CEO of Dong Energy Henrik Poulsen, who stepped down as a Danfoss board member at the end of 2015. The remaining members of the Danfoss Board include Jørgen M Clausen, William Ervin Hoover Jr, Kasper B Rørsted, Björn KO Rosengren, Mads-Peter Clausen, Dr Jürgen Reinert, Sandra Nørgaard Bertelsen, Jens Peter Nielsen and Lars Grau.

Latest News

20th July 2024

Munters set to acquire Geoclima

SWEDEN/ITALY: Pioneering Italian chiller manufacturer Geoclima is set to be acquired by Swedish air treatment and climate solutions company Munters. 
19th July 2024

Bank to retrofit 62% of branches to heat pumps

CANADA: The Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) has announced a multi-million-dollar retrofit of its branches in Canada to low-carbon heating and cooling systems such as heat pumps.
19th July 2024

Madrid installs cool bus shelters

SPAIN: Madrid’s municipal bus company EMT has installed bus shelters with in-built cooling systems at two locations in the city. 
19th July 2024

Beijer Ref reports record profit in Q2

SWEDEN: Wholesaler Beijer Ref has revealed Q2 as its best ever quarter, with sales of SEK9,681m (€835m) and record profitability.
18th July 2024

Climate committee calls for action on heat pumps

UK: A UK government advisory body has backed calls to make electricity cheaper by removing policy costs from electricity prices. 
18th July 2024

Customs block quota-busting F-gas shipment

ITALY: An unnamed “specialised” company from the Piedmont region of northwest Italy faces a fine of up to €150,000 for exceeding its F-gas import quota.