UK News

Paget and Cook receive ACR Awards recognition

UK: Dave Paget of Lloyds Register and Lisa Jayne Cook of GEA were both recognised for their services to the industry at last night’s ACR News Awards.

This annual event, this year held at the Park Plaza London Riverbank Hotel, saw Dave Paget pick up the Alan Moor “unsung hero” Award, while Lisa-Jayne Cook received the special Diversity Award.

Paget served a five-year apprenticeship at compressor manufacturer Broom and Wade before joining pressure vessel manufacturer Jerome Engineering in 1983 as a sales estimating engineer. He spent 21 years with the Jerome, becoming divisional director and representing them on BSI committees involved in product standards to support the pressure equipment directive.

Following the company’s purchase by Bitzer in 2004, he served as manufacturing manager and ultimately product manager for packs and vessels before leaving to join Lloyds Register as refrigeration surveyor in 2010. His role involves undertaking statutory in-service inspection of refrigeration systems and PED compliance assessment of equipment. He continues to be active with both the IoR and BSI, recently being appointed to the chair of refrigeration safety at the BSI.

Lisa-Jayne Cook is well-known, both as a refrigeration engineer and as a multi-award-winning advocate for diversity and inclusion. Currently, chair of the IoR’s Women in RACHP group, Cook was also recently appointed as UK delegate to the UN’s Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) and continues as an active STEM Ambassador and STEMazing Women.

In other awards, Gareth Walsh of Tamworth-based ICE AC Ltd was named Trainee of the Year, while Derbyshire Refrigeration took this year’s Wholesaler/Distributor of the Year title.

The full list of winners:

Trainee of the Year
Gareth Walsh – ICE AC

Wholesaler/Distributor of the Year
Derbyshire Refrigeration

Marketing Initiative of the Year
Mitsubishi Electric – Road to Net Zero Roadshow

Chiller Product of the Year
Carrier – AquaForce Vision

Commercial Heat Pump of the Year
Swegon – BlueBox Geyser Sky R0

Domestic Heat Pump of the Year
Daikin – Altherma 3 low capacity monobloc

Environmental Initiative of the Year
Mitsubishi Electric in collaboration with BESA – Buildings As Safe Havens (BASH) Guide

Ancillary Product of the Year
Fieldpiece Instruments BV – SR47 wireless refrigerant scale

Refrigeration Product of the Year
Bitzer – Ecolite 2.0

Air Conditioning Product of the Year
Daikin UK – VRV 5 Heat Recovery

Alan Moor Award
Dave Paget

Diversity Award
Lisa-Jayne Cook

Related Articles

Back to top button