World News

Ruzhu Wang awarded Gustav Lorentzen Medal

FRANCE: The IIR’s Gustav Lorentzen Medal, awarded every four years for outstanding achievements in refrigeration, has gone to Ruzhu Wang of Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

The awards coincide with the International Institute of Refrigeration’s four-yearly International Congress of Refrigeration, the 25th event being held in Montreal, Canada, in August. 

The IIR offers a series of prestigious academic and scientific awards that recognise those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of refrigeration or who have completed noteworthy research.

The Gustav Lorentzen Medal is awarded to a person for outstanding and original achievements in either academic or industrial research, on innovation or development, in all fields of refrigeration.

Professor Wang Ruzhu has been director of the Institute of Refrigeration and Cryogenics at Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) since 1993. Currently he is also the director of the Engineering Research Center of Solar Power & Refrigeration and vice-dean of SJTU Energy Institute.

Wang has published over 450 journal papers, 130 international conference papers, a number of review papers and eight books. His research achievements have won National Invention award and National Natural Science Research Award. In 2013 he received the J & E Hall International Gold Medal from the Institute of Refrigeration, won the 2017 Asia academic award in refrigeration, and the Nukiyama Memorial Award in Thermal Science and Engineering in 2018.

Winner of the IIR Science and Technology Medal is Bart Nicolai, director at Flanders Centre of Postharvest Technology, for his research in the area of post-harvest biology and technology, with a focus on refrigerated storage and controlled atmosphere storage of, in particular, fresh fruit and vegetables.

The IIR also announced awards to seven young researchers. These were named as: 
Clarence Birdseye Award – Steven Duret (France)
Sadi Carnot Award – Zhiwei Ma (China) & Kai Wang (China)
Willis H Carrier Award – Wei Wu (China)
James Harrison Award – Claudia Capo (Italy)
James Joule Award – Pascal Clain (France) & Zhenyuan Xu (China)
Peter Kapitza Award – Shiran Bao (China)
Carl von Linde Award – Jingyuan Xu (China)

Related Articles

Back to top button